ASPA Bargaining Update

We are very pleased to announce that your bargaining team has reached a new tentative collective agreement with the University of Saskatchewan, subject to ratification by the membership. We will be presenting the details of this agreement to you very soon by online town halls and making the presentation with details of the agreement available online so that everyone has a chance to review and make an informed decision prior to the online voting period. The bargaining team is recommending a yes vote for this agreement.

This agreement would not have been possible without the support you as members gave us over the past year and in particular during the mail in vote supervised by the Labour Relations Board which you overwhelming turned down. Having 900 plus members vote on that “final offer” from the U of S sent a strong message that you were behind the bargaining team and expected a better offer. We will present you with the improved offer in the next few weeks.

As President I want to thank and congratulate the ASPA bargaining team of Dawn Giesbrecht, Milan Bogunovic, Colleen Cochran, Graham Wisser and Darcy Hryn-Bird  on their dedication to getting the best deal possible during these uncertain times. A special thank you to Hugh Wagner who provided us with such sage advice and expertise which played a large role in getting to this tentative agreement. I also want to acknowledge Dawn Giesbrecht as the co-lead of the team as she has worked tirelessly for the membership over the last two years and kept us on track through all the twists and turns that make up a negotiation. And finally I want to acknowledge the universities bargaining team and the hard work they put into this negotiation.

All the best

Dawn Giesbrecht, ASPA Bargaining Team Co-Lead on behalf of the Bargaining Team

Curtis Larson, ASPA President on behalf of the Executive

%d bloggers like this: