2021 University Staff Excellence Award Recipients

The University Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have achieved excellence while demonstrating dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values in support of the University Plan 2025. In 2021, the program gave special recognition to those individuals who made exceptional contributions through the unexpected challenges of the pandemic, enabling the university to succeed through these extraordinary times. This year they received 41 nominations for this award.

Congratulations to the five award recipients who are all ASPA members as well:

  • Yvette Arcand, Acting Director, the Indian Teacher Education Program, College of Education
  • Wendy James, Manager, Professional and Curriculum Development, Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning
  • Majak Mapiour, Chemical and Biological Engineering Laboratory Coordinator, College of Engineering
  • Kurtis Swekla, Acting University Veterinarian and Director of Animal Ethics, Office of the Vice President Research
  • Carrie Verishagen, Director, Eat Well Saskatchewan, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition

College of Arts and Science’s Dean’s Distinguished Staff Awards

Congratulation to ASPA member Shannon Boklaschuk, Communications Office, College of Arts and Science Communications Office, for being a recipient of the College of Arts & Science’s Dean’s Distinguished Staff Award. This annual award recognizes and formally acknowledges two outstanding members of the College of Arts & Science staff and the extraordinary contribution they make to the working environment.


Canadian Association of Research Administrators (CARA) Awards

Congratulations to Bonnie Hughes, Research Facilitator, College of Law, for receiving the 2021 Research Project Management Award for her support/facilitation of large non-research grants, such as the $1.6M grant for the ‘Sexual Harassment in the workplace’ project (a joint initiative by the College of Law, Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission, Sexual Assault Services of Saskatchewan, and Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce), and the $140,000-grant for the Nunavut Law Program (an initiative of College of Law in Nunavut).

Congratulations also to Karen E. Mosier, Research Coordinator/Navigator, Department of Surgery, College of Medicine for being recognized with the 2021 Research Management Excellence Award.  This award recognizes an exceptional research manager who has made outstanding contributions to the profession nationally and internationally through innovation, creativity, hard work and dedication. 


USask Health and Safety Award Winner

ASPA member Rob Peace has been awarded the USask Safety Recognition Award for 2021. The award recognizes employees that goes above and beyond to keep USask students, staff and faculty safe.

Peace has been a diligent health and safety leader in the College of Engineering for many years and is currently the employee co-chair of the Local Safety Committee (LSC). Through his involvement on the LSC, Rob has led the development of the Engineering Safety Management System (ESMS), a key framework for helping to keep students, staff and faculty safe. The ESMS is being implemented college-wide to ensure consistently high levels of safety, to drive continual improvement, and an established culture of safety. Congratulations and thank-you to all the Safety Recognition Award nominees for their hard work keeping everyone at USask safe. Those also celebrated for their worthy nominations this year are Nicole Barlow (Library), Susan Cook (WCVM), Renato De Freitas (AgBio), Jennifer Lang (Music), Cody Millar (GIWS), Marc St. Arnaud (AgBio), Tracey Thue (VIDO-Intervac), and Cindy Toy (WCVM).


University of Saskatchewan Staff Excellence Award

The University Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have achieved excellence while demonstrating dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values and support of the University Plan 2025.

The staff member must be a current employee as of April 30 of the year of the nomination.

Criteria also includes:

  • enhancement of the work environment by providing extraordinary service to the university community;
  • inspiration, support and respect of the endeavours of others; 
  • distinction of accomplishment achieved through dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values and support of the University Plan 2025

The deadline is March 19, 2021. If you would like to read more, or to apply, please follow the link.

University Staff Excellence Award – University of Saskatchewan (


University of Saskatchewan International Engagement Service Award

ASPA member Le Li, Senior International Specialist, International Office, is the 2021 recipient of the University of Saskatchewan International Engagement Service Award. This award recognizes the exceptional contributions of a USask staff member to strengthen the global profile of the University of Saskatchewan. Along with a certificate, she will receive a $1,500 prize. Congratulations to Le for her outstanding contributions to the university community.


The Provost’s Outstanding Support of Teaching and Learning Award – Teaching Award for ASPA Members

The Provost’s Outstanding Support of Teaching and Learning Award annually recognizes excellence in the support of course design, delivery, advising and instruction. All staff members who support course design and delivery, instruction, and student advising who are not faculty, term or sessional instructors. Nominations may come from outside the unit or department in which the nominee is employed.  ASPA members who support teaching and learning are eligible for this award. If you have a colleague who provides outstanding support to teaching and learning on our campus, consider nominating them for this award by March 1.

More information, including award criteria and submission instructions, are listed here:

Contact Wenona Partridge if you have any questions at


12 Days of Holidays Give Away!

We would like to announce the winners of our ASPA 12 Days of Holidays contest:

  • Tracey Baliski
  • Stryker Calvez
  • Darcie Earle
  • Tamara Hominuke
  • Daryl Janzen
  • Angela Ko
  • Lauryn Kronick
  • Sean Polreis
  • Daryl Pshyk
  • Heather Ross
  • Travis Rotenburger
  • Brent Usselman

Congratulation to our lucky winners. Our Administrative Assistant will be mailing out the prizes.

We would like to take the opportunity to wish all our ASPA members Happy Holidays and all the best in 2021! May you have a safe and relaxing holiday.

ASPA Communications & Public Relations Committee